So I finally watched the 50th! (no spoilers)

Guess who got all timey-wimey!

It was me. Remember I said “The Day of The Doctor” was going to be at 4:30 a.m.? Well… it turns out my maths were a bit wrong. It was at 1:30 p.m.

But let’s start from the beginning. This weekend was amazing. Last Friday I finally submitted my Methodology research. I still don’t know the note, but I am confident that it will be a good one. And this also means I get to sleep more and better. I only have three school weeks left: an evaluation week at the uni, an evaluation week at the Language Learning Centre, and my Japanese evaluation week (which is also next week, but the teacher will delay it to help us study, like always). This means that the munchies are less sold, so I must find a way to save money for my vacations. It’s going to be two months, and although that is awesome, it means that my parents will not give me money and I can’t sell anything. I have thought about getting a job, but I’m not sure. I have never had one before; every time I want to work I do freelance activities, like translating, fixing computers or the munchies business. I don’t like the idea of being bossed around, and my temperament might become a problem.

I know what you think. How will I ever be prepared for the job market if I’m not able to be an employee? Well, I’m not sure. I guess I had never thought about it before, but some day I will have to. I can’t be a freelance forever, at least not if I want to travel. And I do not want to teach. I suck at teaching. I want to translate texts or be an interpreter, and only until I can afford to go to the UK or the USA to publish my books. So what I have now is what I most hate: the oil industry. If I want to leave I must work there, even though I hate engineers and in general what the oil industry does to my country. And anyone who believes that global warming is not real has never put a foot in here. This is all because of the oil extraction.

Of course, I have business ideas. I want to export our local products to Japan. I want to make inventions. And I want to make a TV channel, at least locally. But for all that I need money, and I will not get it selling cookies at the uni. So my plan includes working in oil, yes. Although if I get some strings to pull I could move to the capital and find a job that is not oil-related. But that’s going to take time.

But I’m rambling; I don’t even know how I got to that topic. Anyway, Friday I had a nice evening and Saturday morning I got a few bucks for uninstalling adware from my father’s boss’s computer. So I went out and bought my products, and when I came back I was playing with Google’s Doctor Who doodle when it hit me:

TODAY IS NOBEMBER 23TH!!!

Being the nerd that I am, I was not allowed to go back to school without knowing what happened. What if I found that during the weekend everyone became a fan? I mean, it’s not likely (mostly because they don’t transmit it), but it happened when Spiderman came out. Suddenly everyone loved Marvel. And that made me nuts. So there I was, searching desperately for a link to download the biggest event on British TV since the first transmitted crowning. Of course, five minutes after it ended nobody had uploaded it yet, so I calmed down and watched the last episode which, I must say, despite having one of the most romantic scenes of the show, didn’t really make much sense. But I liked it, it was great. Finally I found the link after that, but it came with another problem: My internet is too slow. I tried to download it eight times until Sunday morning, and it took me a while to do it. But you wanna know what?

IT WAS THE MOST AWESOME THING EVER!!!

I was about to explode. I couldn’t believe it. The start, the middle, the end, there was no second wasted. And all I could think about after it ended was: if I, a new whovian, not previously related to the show in any form, loved it that much, how did the long-run whovians feel? The final scene was epic, seeing that actor coming back… I better not say anything else, because (read it with River Song’s voice) spoilers 😉

But seriously, if there’s any British whovian around I would love to hear your opinion. How did you feel “The Day of The Doctor”? For me, it was brilliant. And for you?

I was going to publish this last night, but I fell asleep. I don’t have a lot to say anyway, so let’s cut it here before it becomes stupid. I’m just waiting to see Whovie. She’s nuts for Doctor Who; really, really nuts. And I’m kind of the only other whovian at the uni, so it is my duty to be with her when she wants to talk about it. Not that I don’t want it, of course, I love to see her when she talks about the shows she likes. She’s so… passionate. I think I’ve never met someone that passionate before. And this time I’ll finally understand what she’s talking about, so that will make it even better. I just want to see her smile.

Well, let’s see the three things I learnt this weekend:

1.- I need to get a job. I need to know the experience before it’s too late to learn it.

2.- Steven Moffat is brilliant. Just brilliant.

3.- The things that you most love are the things that make you show the best of you, that make you passionate about them. And without passion, what’s the point of being human?

Peace,

Écrivain

Next post: About schools, Doctors and a crazy girl

One thought on “So I finally watched the 50th! (no spoilers)

  1. Pingback: What Grownups call love | Chronicles Of A Lonely Writer

What do you think?

