About Schools, Doctors and a Crazy Girl

Today was a great day. A really great one. Well, every day I see Whovie is.

Today I arrived early at school because I wanted to do the French test in my voluntary class. But apparently the teacher forgot to get me a copy again (although he didn’t forget ask for me to buy me cookies). I’m friends with Monsieur C, and I still was not going to see my note anyway because he will deliver them after we finish classes, so I just left. And do you remember where do nerds go when they don’t have classes? That’s right, the library. For us it’s not only a place of learning, it is a sanctuary where you can feel safe and discuss about intellectual things without being socially oppressed or attacked. I was reading a new book I bought at the book fair –Wild Cards, edited by George R. R. Martin, very entertaining- when a friend from Italian class came. She’s one of the oldest students (besides middle-aged people), and she defines herself as a “university fossil”. Well, Fossil and I were sharing thoughts about the problems of our country. If you are not interested in Mexican Politics, you may skip the next paragraph.

Our talk was about the recent educational reform that has been the biggest debate of the last years, along with Pemex (Mexican Oil industry) privatisation. The reform essentially states that, in a country with already a 45% of educational backwardness, public schools will stop being free. The predicted prices are around the same as private schools’, but with a huge difference: almost useless facilities, terrible control of bullying/youth crime and, worst of all, the worst educators of the world. As I already explained in another post, in Mexico the teachers are legally exempted to do anything, and most of them happily enjoy this privilege. The only exception, though, are the rural schools’ teachers. Since they have the hardest work and usually the lowest salaries, practically all of them are working on the field for vocation instead of greediness. And imagine knowing that all the children they love and care for will have to quit school because they can’t afford even the register. Therefore, they are protesting for a better education, making strikes and criticising the reform. But since the media is controlled by the government here (or is it the other way around? Honestly, I don’t know) they are portraying them together with the other protesters: the lazy teachers. See, another part of the reform involves doing tests to grade teachers and allow or deny them the right to work. And we all know they won’t pass, so they are protesting against these tests, shamelessly exposing their ignorance and little care about what they are supposed to do. They are part of the biggest and most immune organisation of the nation: The National Syndicate of Workers of Education, or SNTE. The SNTE is responsible for the teachers’ immunity, their excessive expenses (every teacher manages to get a punctuality bonus even if they rarely show up), the inherited jobs that stop new candidates from working and in general their attitude of “I don’t give a cheeto”. The problem is that the media puts the SNTE losers along with the rural protesters, making the proudly ignorant people see them all as a single group of lazy overpaid teachers who only want to suck our taxes. And if they don’t stop the reform, by next year literally no Mexican will register their children in public schools, causing an educational backwardness of 90% and condemning the country to one of the worst gifts a third world country with oil can get: The USA’s Democracy. We will get invaded, the country will get [more] broke and we’ll be used as cheap handwork, given that Mexico hasn’t fought a war in a hundred years and we are unprepared to avoid conquer (the country has six tanks only and half the soldiers are drug dealers).

Anyway, I was discussing with Fossil about how the SNTE’s destruction could stop the catastrophe or just delay it, but one of her friends came looking for her to do homework and she had to go. Luckily, at the exactly same time Whovie was entering the library, and when she saw me she had the biggest smile and just asked “did you see it?”, and then we started talking about how awesome “The Day of The Doctor” had been, and about all our favourite scenes that actually were the entire movie. And so it begun, our whovian hour to share all of our most loved and most hated things of the series. Literally an hour; we didn’t have anything else to do and talking about something you really like is one of the most fun things you can do with someone you really like. And she told me about a fan band called Chameleon Circuit that actually has great songs. She likes a lot of fan bands, now that I think so; the last semester she showed me Draco and the Malfoys and I must say I liked their lyrics. And when she talks about the show she does it with such feelings that you would think she is actually there. We were talking about River Song’s… event (first appearance spoiler, but still) and she had tears in her eyes. You can see her becoming emotional for those things, and it’s like a part of her soul is compromised with it. I don’t know why, but I find that really amazing in her.

At the end, when we were getting emotional, her mum arrived and took her home. I had a little embarrassing moment, though: I have troubles remembering faces, so when I saw her I didn’t recognise her immediately and thus didn’t shake her hand (I thought she might be a teacher coming to shut us up). So Whovie started to re-introduce us and then it hit me and I said hello with the biggest of smiles. I just hope she doesn’t think I’m an unconsidered person, but it’s actually a problem that has gotten me in troubles several times. I have a severe myopia and until age 12 I refused to wear glasses, because I lived in the last generation that saw them as a thing of losers. Combining that with the fact that I spent most of my childhood and puberty in the library or online, I didn’t develop good face recognition skills, which sounds really dumb but can be problematic in occasions. Have you ever heard someone say “all black/Asian/Indian/ [insert-your-race-here] people look the same”? Well, to me it’s true, but with all races, including my own. I recognise people by their voice, their hair, their colour and their body shape; I forget faces easily unless I see them on a daily basis. That being said, sometimes I have embarrassing moments, like today with Whovie’s mum. God, I really hope she doesn’t care.

After that I had my usual two free hours (I know, I don’t have lasses on Tuesdays and Thursdays and still go to school, you may hate me now) and I told Pseudohipster and Pseudogay that the girl I was in love with was Whovie. They were supportive, and Pseudohipster told me she had already figured it out, but she warned me that what I have is a crush, and I should not take it very seriously, or I could get hurt. We chatted about several things and then Riuk came and interviewed me for a research. It was a nice day.

I didn’t have Japanese or Portuguese class for unknown reasons, so at the end I realised I had spent seven hours at the uni for one hour of class. And I forgot the book at home. What a nice day for a nerd, uh?

So here are the three things I learnt today:

1.- I must escape from my country as soon as possible, before the government sells us out.

2.- I don’t know if it’s normal, but I just realised I like being at school. Just two and a half weeks before vacations. Yay…

3.- Sometimes what you love the most about someone is not that they make you happy, but that you can make them happy. And that is a good thing.

Peace,

Écrivain

Next post: Movies, foreigners and the girls in my life

One thought on “About Schools, Doctors and a Crazy Girl

  1. Pingback: So I finally watched the 50th! (no spoilers) | Chronicles Of A Lonely Writer

What do you think?

